A Little DIY…

A Little DIY…

The hubs and I dove into a little home improvement over the long weekend and I found myself craving a little DIY once we relocated my home office to our former dining room.  The life blood of a designers office is storage, storage, storage…thus, bookcases are a must!  However, now that these must-haves are going to be on view for all to see just off of the main living area I wanted to spruce things up a bit.  We’ve all had a standard IKEA Billy Bookcase or two in our lives and they are just soooo plain and to be honest mine were just tired.  I decided to stay with something simple and add a little pattern to the backs.  They didn’t turn out perfect, but good enough for me:)

 

IKEA Billy Bookcase

IKEA Billy Bookcase

I removed the backs of two bookcases

I removed the backs of two bookcases and prepared to create my pattern.

 

I used blue painters tape to lay out the pattern on the first back.  I planned on measuring, but ended up eyeballing it.

I used blue painters tape to lay out the pattern on the first back. I planned on measuring, but ended up eyeballing it.

Pattern was matched on the other back section.

Pattern was matched on the other back section.

I selected a gold acrylic and decided to embrace the brush marks and create a strie.

I selected a gold acrylic and decided to embrace the brush marks and create a strie.

When I removed the tape there was a little paint that had worked its' way under the tape.  Luckily, it wiped away with a damp cloth.

When I removed the tape there was a little paint that had worked its’ way under the tape. Luckily, it wiped away with a damp cloth.

Backs installed when paint dried and scratches in the paint were touched up.

Backs installed when paint dried and scratches in the paint were touched up.

Shelves were reassembled and my office was ready to go.

Shelves were reassembled and my office was ready to go.

DSC_0152

DSC_0154

There are so many creative IKEA upgrades out there.  Please share yours and we’ll post a few of our faves next week.

xoxo

Jenn

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “A Little DIY…

  1. Pingback: White, Gold, and Chevron too! | Charm City Design

Leave a Reply

