NYFW Day 1

I have to say I was honored and over the moon excited to have the opportunity to attend Spring/Summer 2014 New York Fashion Week.  Not only am I a passionate lover of fashion design, I love how fashion and interiors trend together and influence one another.  I’ll have a great idea of what’s our way in the interiors world following NYFW and I can’t wait to share it with you.  I want to share a bit of each of the shows I attended as the designers deserve to have as many people as possible view their countless hours of work.   I’ll share photos via a gallery so that you can click through to see full size images.  I do apologize for some pretty terrible iPhone photos, but I didn’t expect to have a seat assignment, let alone be close to the stage for so many shows.  And so it begins…

There was so much energy leading up to the BCBG Max Azria show with so many stars being interviewed and photographed from their front row perches combined with the overall anticipation of all in the room for just the 2nd show of NYFW.  The lights dimmed but the energy never left the room as ‘Get Lucky’  began pumping and the steady flow of long limbed beauties began.  Having read the press materials and seeing ‘deconstructed’ and ‘reconstructed’ both used I expected a much harder look.  Instead there was a beautiful mix of harder lined pieces obviously following under the deconstructed heading made soft in white and barely there pastels, but also floaty florals breezing down the runway with a bit of edge in their pieced construction and strong color combinations.

 

Onto Tadashi Shoji, which I was so excited for having dresses from the designer in my closet.  I love the span that a brand like this has; Oscar night red carpet to a $225 cocktail dress in my closet.  I was so pleased to find myself in the 2nd row catching a great glimpse of the gorgeous, natural looking, gals as they headed back down the runway.  The collection was a beautiful mix of pastel cocktail-ready frocks in silk and fringed sequins alike, plaid work-ready ensembles, and long flowing beauties begging for a red carpet.

 

The Spanish label Desigual bore a Christian Lacroix collaboration this season.   Although the mix of every pattern imaginable in one collection was almost overwhelming, the details of each piece were impeccable.  There were graphic black and white prints with a mod vibe, red, white, and blue Americana patterns, and watercolor prints among other.  It was great to see the seriousness removed and models seemingly having a blast as they were cheery, fun, and animated.  Each waved or blew a kiss at the end of the runway before trotting back the other wave, some high-fiving the next model as she passed.  Although the patterns weren’t necessarily my thing I can say the silhouettes were extremely wearable and if you’re not afraid of pattern mixing then jump on the Desigual train, because they’ve got what you need.

A quick change at the hotel and then back at it with Marissa Webb.  She stole my heart as J.Crew women’s wear designer and hasn’t let me down since.  The designer said “this collection is reflective of her personal style” which is evident along with a nod of the tomboy mix she introduced to J.Crew.  No woman wants to dress the same every single day, and Marissa Webb brings a collection that you can see one woman wearing throughout the week/season.  There are the tomboy separates and touches of leather for weeknight cocktails and weekend exploring, feminine dresses for day and night that could take you from work to party without being too pretty, and some overt stand-outs in the brightest of red and a leather corset.  I couldn’t snag photos from my seat, so all images in this gallery are via Elle.

 

I finished my evening at the Art Institute of New York graduate show.  The energy was so different at this show as I was surrounded by students and getting the inside scoop on who and what I was about to see.  I also heard a lot of gossip and even more haters, but they’re kids-right.  I can tell you for sure that no one should have been hating, these kids were good, really good.  Were there a couple of collections that weren’t as pulled together and concise as the others, yes, but you could see the effort and time that went into it none the less.  For most of the show I looked on thinking nice, pretty, cool, ugh not so much, but then there was a model who seemed to be wearing a costume with a tulle-underlay asymmetrical skirt and giant black hat with a feather streaming behind her as she walked.  More of the same arrived and I was in awe.  The designer, Michael Doyle, the clear stand-out of the night received a thundering cheer when he took his bow.  I immediately looked him up upon returning to the hotel to learn about his inspiration as his entire collection seemed to be waiting for a movie set.  He shares on the Art Institute website that his inspiration was the Art Nouveau artist Aubrey Beardsley and that “I have always been into fashion that tells a story- theatrical, moving, and thought-provoking.”  I, for one, cannot wait to see more from Michael Doyle.

That’s all for now.

xoxo

2 thoughts on “NYFW Day 1

  1. Pingback: NYFW Day 1 | Rich Like Them

  2. Pingback: NYFW Day 2 | Charm City Design

Leave a Reply

