Not Necessarily Fussy

When I first started in interior design sixteen years ago I was a modern girl through and through and nothing seemed more tired or traditional then an antique rug, which it seemed the firm I was working with, used TONS of. Through the years my tastes have expanded and I have come to appreciate how much an antique rug can add to a space, even a modern one!  Part of my original bias against the antique Oriental or Persian rugs was that I had been seeing some pretty bad imitations with poor quality fibers and garish coloring.  I did not realize that there were beautiful rugs out there that were crafted to last lifetimes, beautifully drawn, and the colors softened perfectly through wear.  I have even been seeing of late some really good new rugs made to look antiqued.  For all my modern home lovers out there, do me a favor,  before you buy your next area rug from a modern rug retailer, take a look some Antique Oushak Turkish, Tibetan, or Scandinavian rugs.  A little inspiration below all from Houzz!

7971810c0050c138_7044-w140-h140-b0-p0--eclectic-dining-room 8c71c232008d4cc3_9142-w140-h140-b0-p0--eclectic-living-room 915125040050bf99_9514-w140-h140-b0-p0--eclectic-family-room 97c18cad01b26a4f_7126-w140-h140-b0-p0--contemporary-entry 9be1c0fd0cde68a5_1000-w140-h140-b0-p0--eclectic-living-room-1

From House Beautiful

From House Beautiful

From Designcrisis.com

From Designcrisis.com

Check out this blog post by Matt Cameron Rugs for more beautiful Oushaks.

If you are in the Baltimore/D.C. area check out Alex Cooper‘s selections.

One thought on “Not Necessarily Fussy

Leave a Reply

