French Forward: Noe Duchaufour Lawrance

I admit it, I am a Francophile.  I seem to love all things French.  Ahhhh… their cheese, wine, bread, pastries, coffee, fashion, music, art, language and furniture!  My love affair with French furniture started in college when I studied the work of Art Deco designer Emile-Jacques Ruhlmann.  Beautifully designed pieces that were very modern for their time.  Of late I have been following the work of another French Interior Designer/Furniture Designer, Noe Duchaufour Lawrance.  Lawrance is also very modern, but less geometric and more organic than Ruhlmann.  He tends to nod toward Art Nouveau rather then Deco, yet completely avoids the dizzying movement of what I often visualize when I hear Nouveau.  If I had to sum up his style in two adjectives it would be sinuous/zen.  As a contemporary, I am in awe of, but not surprised by, his continues success and ever expanding repertoire.  Take a look at some of my favorite furniture pieces and visit his site here to see more work.  To see him speak about his work, click here.

Noe Duchaufour Lawrance- Corvo for Bernhardt

Noe Duchaufour Lawrance- Corvo for Bernhardt

Noe Duchaufour Lawrance- Chiara

Noe Duchaufour Lawrance- Chiara

Noe Duchaufour Lawrance- Borghese

Noe Duchaufour Lawrance- Borghese

Noe Duchaufour Lawrance- Derby

Noe Duchaufour Lawrance- Derby

Noe Duchaufour Lawrance- Naturoscopie

Noe Duchaufour Lawrance- Naturoscopie

Noe Duchaufour Lawrance

From Bernhardt

Leave a Reply

