Silver Screen Interiors (well in this case Costumes): The Grifters

The-Grifters_Angelica-Huston-red-dress-elevator-full_cap-494x267

When it starts to get chilly out for some reason I get the hankering for Film Noir.  I love it, even though like any genre it can get pretty formulaic.  One of my all time favorites is Stephan Frears’ The Grifters.  It is perfect film noir, full of greedy characters and deception.  Don’t get me wrong, the sets are good.  They do exactly what they should, creating a timeless stage for modern day LA with nods to classic Film Noir, but to me the costumes, by Richard Hornung,  always stood out as perfection.  These femme fatales use their clothes as a tool.  For the character of Myra (Annette Benning) she uses her sexuality to get what she wants, sometimes overtly, sometimes more subtly.  For Lilly (Anjelica Huston) her clothes are just a bit harder, and perhaps colder, projecting the “Don’t mess with me” vibe.   When I did my little IMDB research I was saddened to find out Richard Hornung died in 1995 at the age of 45.  I also found that Christopher Laverty wrote a great post for it on the blog “Clothes on Film”, which I may now have to follow.  Check his post here.  Since he already says it all so well, I will simply show some images proving how Richard Hornung nailed it.

2013-09-19 21.51.14 2013-09-19 22.08.47 2013-09-19 22.12.30 2013-09-19 22.14.33 2013-09-19 22.20.03 2013-09-19 22.30.00

The-Grifters_Annette-Benning-red-dress-rear_cap-494x263

Leave a Reply

